The Known World is a 2003 historical novel by Edward P. Jones. Set in Virginia during the antebellum era, it examines the issues regarding the ownership of black slaves by both white and black Americans.

The book was published to widespread acclaim from literary critics, with much praise directed at its story and Jones’ prose. In particular, his ability to intertwine stories within stories received great praise from The New York Times.

The narration of The Known World is from the perspective of an omniscient figure who doesn’t voice judgment. This allows the reader to experience the story without bias.

Continue reading “THE KNOWN WORLD”



The Poisonwood Bible (1998), by Barbara Kingsolver, is a bestselling novel about a missionary family, the Prices, who in 1959 move from the U.S. state of Georgia to the village of Kilanga in the Belgian Congo, close to the Kwilu River.

The Poisonwood Bible is a story told by the wife and four daughters of Nathan Price, a fierce, evangelical Baptist who takes his family and mission to the Belgian Congo in 1959. They carry with them everything they believe they will need from home, but soon find that all of it — from garden seeds to Scripture — is calamitously transformed on African soil. What follows is a suspenseful epic of one family’s tragic undoing and remarkable reconstruction over the course of three decades in postcolonial Africa.

Continue reading “THE POISONWOOD BIBLE”


Bring Up the Bodies is a historical novel by Hilary Mantel and sequel to her award-winning Wolf Hall. It is the second part of a planned trilogy charting the rise and fall of Thomas Cromwell, the powerful minister in the court of King Henry VIII. Bring Up the Bodies won the 2012 Man Booker Prize and the 2012 Costa Book of the Year. It is to be followed by The Mirror and the Light.

Continue reading “BRING UP THE BODIES”


Wolf Hall (2009) is a historical novel by English author Hilary Mantel, published by Fourth Estate, named after the Seymour family seat of Wolfhall or Wulfhall in Wiltshire. Set in the period from 1500 to 1535, Wolf Hall is a sympathetic fictionalised biography documenting the rapid rise to power of Thomas Cromwell in the court of Henry VIII through to the death of Sir Thomas More. The novel won both the Man Booker Prize and the National Book Critics Circle Award.

The book is the first in a trilogy; the sequel Bring Up the Bodies was published in 2012. The last book in the trilogy will be called The Mirror and the Light and is expected to cover the last four years of Cromwell’s life.

Continue reading “WOLF HALL”


March (2005) is a novel by Geraldine Brooks. It is a novel that retells Louisa May Alcott’s novel Little Women from the point of view of Alcott’s protagonists’ absent father. Brooks has inserted the novel into the classic tale, revealing the events surrounding March’s absence during the American Civil War in 1862. The novel won the 2006 Pulitzer Prize for fiction.

Plot summary

In 1862, Mr. March, an abolitionist and chaplain in the Union Army, is driven by his conscience to leave his home and family in Concord, Massachusetts, to participate in the war. During this time, March writes letters to his family, but he withholds the true extent of the brutality and injustices he witnesses on and off the battlefields. He suffers from a prolonged illness stemming from poor conditions on a cotton farm in Virginia. While in hospital, he has an unexpected meeting with Grace, an intelligent and literate black nurse whom he first met as a young woman staying in a large house where she was a slave. The recovering March, despite his guilt and grief over his survival when others have perished, returns home to his wife and Little Women, but he has been scarred by the events he has gone through. The novel accurately reflects Bronson Alcott’s principles, notably his belief that boys and girls of all races had a right to education and his wish to follow a vegetarian diet. It presents the young Mrs March as a fiery character with strong verbal and physical expressions of anger.

Download the book: March.pdf


The March is a 2005 historical fiction novel by E. L. Doctorow. It won the PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction (2006) and the National Book Critics Circle Award/Fiction (2005).

The March, a novel by E. L. Doctorow, follows an array of disparate characters through the final weeks of the Civil War. As General William Tecumseh Sherman marches his Union troops through Georgia and north through the Carolinas, they are joined by another growing army of followers — freed slaves and displaced well-to-do whites, all of whom are at a loss regarding what to do now that their lives have been turned upside down. There is not one main character or central plot, but rather snippets from the lives of a wide range of characters who are trying to navigate through unique circumstances.

Continue reading “THE MARCH”


The Revenant: A Novel of Revenge is a 2002 novel by American author Michael Punke, based on a series of events in the life of American frontiersman Hugh Glass in 1823 Missouri Territory. The word “Revenant” means someone who has risen from the grave to terrorize the living.
The story takes place along the Missouri River in 1823. The trappers of the Rocky Mountain Fur Company are traveling upwards, on their initial path to Fort Union. One man in this party, Hugh Glass, is ferociously attacked by a mother bear, leaving his body slaughtered and on the brink of death. Everyone in the group, including Glass, believes that it’s only a matter of time before the inevitable happens. When Captain Henry orders two men to stay behind and keep watch on Glass until his death, Fitzgerald and Bridger volunteer.
The men are meant to stay behind and bury Glass after he has died, and in return, they will receive $70. On the third day, Fitzgerald, fed up with being so far behind the rest of the group, abandons Glass, and takes his precious rifle and knife, leaving him with nothing to protect himself. Bridger initially protests his actions, but eventually runs away from Glass to catch up with Fitzgerald. Continue reading “THE REVENANT”